Attention A T users. To access the menus on this page please perform the following steps. 1. Please switch auto forms mode to off. 2. Hit enter to expand a main menu option (Health, Benefits, etc). 3. To enter and activate the submenu links, hit the down arrow. You will now be able to tab or arrow up or down through the submenu options to access/activate the submenu links.

Tennessee Valley Healthcare System

Veterans Crisis Line Badge
My HealtheVet badge
EBenefits Badge

Tennessee Valley PGY1 and PGY2 Pharmacy Residency Program

Pharmacy Residency Links

Home | Why TVHS | Clinical Staff | Current Residents | How to Apply
PGY1 Program | PGY1 Rotations | PGY2 Program | PGY2 Rotations
Publications | Past Residents | Nashville | Murfreesboro 

Two members of the TVHS Pharmacy Residency Program smile for the camera.

Welcome to the Veterans Affairs
Tennessee Valley Healthcare System’s
PGY1 and PGY2 Pharmacy Residency Programs

These Postgraduate Year One (PGY1) and Postgraduate Year Two (PGY2) Pharmacy Residencies located in Nashville and Murfreesboro, Tennessee, provide residents with the skills and knowledge required to enter a contemporary practice environment where they can effectively provide clinical services. We, at TVHS, understand the changing face of pharmacy healthcare and strive to prepare our residents for entrance into a competitive job market. Be it clinical skills, research, publication, teaching, or leadership, we care about our residents’ future and will prepare each of them for a meaningful career as a pharmacy practitioner. For this reason, our PGY1 resident training schedules are adjustable to emphasize primary care, acute medicine, or the geriatric care setting.

The Ambulatory Care PGY2 residency schedule provides ample opportunities in ambulatory care with the opportunity to work with thirteen clinical pharmacists who run clinics specializing in management of diabetes, hypertension, hyperlipidemia, hepatitis C, dementia, and Vitamin D deficiency in addition to anticoagulation clinics and a pain management clinic. The specific program schedules for each resident are customized initially based on the resident’s goals, interests, and previous experience. We then continually customize the plan throughout the training year at regular intervals based on evolving resident goals and interests as well as training needs determined by preceptor evaluations, resident self-evaluations, and quarterly evaluations by the Residency Leadership Board. Upon satisfactory completion of the program, trainees are awarded a residency certificate.

The Psychiatry PGY2 residency schedule provides ample opportunities in mental health including a 60 bed acute psychiatry unit, interprofessional mental health outpatient clinics, long-term care and pain management. The specific program schedules are customized initially based on the resident’s goals, interests and previous experience. We then continually customize the plan throughout the training year at regular intervals based on evolving resident goals, interest and feedback as well as training needs determined by preceptor evaluations, resident self-evaluations and quarterly evaluations. Upon satisfactory completion of the program, trainees are awarded a residency certificate.

We, at TVHS, take pride in our residents and our residency programs. We are at the forefront of pharmacy practice and hope you choose to consider our site as a place to complete your PGY1 or PGY2 residency and begin your pharmacy career. Please take a minute and look through this website to learn more about our exciting programs. If you have any questions, do not hesitate to e-mail any one of us.

For the PGY1, please contact:

PGY1 Residency Program Director: M. Shawn McFarland, Pharm.D., BCPS, BCACP, BC-ADM at Michael.McFarland2@va.gov

PGY1 Residency Recruitment Coordinator: Rebecca J. Cripps, Pharm.D., BCPS at Rebecca.Cripps@va.gov

Current Residents: Abbey Loy at Abbey.Loy@va.gov; Amanda Torbett at Amanda.Torbett2@va.gov; Amber Phillips at Amber.Phillips@va.gov; Autumn Bagwell at Autumn.Bagwell@va.gov; Emily Anastasia at Emily.Anastasia@va.gov; Jon Hale at Jonathon.Hale@va.gov; Molly Hurst at Molly.Hurst@va.gov; Ryan Schell at Ryan.Schell@va.gov; Tanmayi Gupta at Tanmayi.Gupta@va.gov 

For the Ambulatory Care PGY2, please contact:

PGY2 Residency Program Director: M. Shawn McFarland, Pharm.D., BCPS, BCACP, BC-ADM at Michael.McFarland2@va.gov

PGY2 Residency Recruitment Coordinator: Rebecca J. Cripps, Pharm.D., BCPS at Rebecca.Cripps@va.gov

Current PGY2 Residents: Julie Wallace at Juliet.Wallace2@va.gov and Mallory Jones at Mallory.Jones2@va.gov 

For the Psychiatry PGY2, please contact:

PGY2 Residency Program Director: Jennifer Bean, Pharm.D., BCPS, BCPP at Jennifer.Bean@va.gov

Current PGY2 Resident: Jennifer Easterling at Jennifer.Easterling@va.gov

For the Cardiology PGY2, please contact:

PGY2 Residency Program Director: Cassie Benge, Pharm.D., BCPS (AQ Cardiology), CDE at Cassandra.Benge@va.gov

Find out more about us at these locations:

VA Pharmacy Residency Program
http://www.pbm.va.gov/VAPharmacyResidencyProgram.aspx

American Society of Health System Pharmacists
http://accred.ashp.org/aps/pages/directory/residencyProgramInformation.aspx?ID=31220